Review: A Distant Voice by Bridie Blake

1096253F-41DC-4010-8569-56E1FC99903D

In life you don’t find your voice. It finds you.

Violet Hayes knows how to survive the year living with her grandmother in the small town of Wandorah, Tennessee.

Make Rose happy

Don’t sing or play guitar

Avoid Sally Shaw

Ignore Carter Jenkins

It seems simple enough, right? Wrong.

How do you keep a depressed sister happy?

How do you deny yourself your dream?

How do you avoid a friendship?

And how do you ignore a boy when he’s everywhere you turn?

Violet’s to-do list just became a whole lot harder.

“It’s okay,” he said. “You’re allowed to enjoy things. You’re not betraying your sister by having fun or doing things you want to do.”

OMG this book gives me so much feelings! From depress to happy and then to excited and back to sad, ugh. But anyway, I love it!

This book is actually depressing to read for me especially Rose’s parts, every time. I kind of started to hate Rose and said to myself I will hate Rose officially at the end of the book but… yeah.

I feel so sorry for Violet throughout the story. It’s not fair for her. Every time she starts to feel happy, Rose will be there trying to turn her to feel sad and guilty again. I feel so angry every time Violet thinks she’s betraying Rose when she feels happy. I understand Rose needs her, but Violet needs Rose too to support her. That’s what sisters do, support each other, don’t make them sad and cheer up for each other.

I hate that Violet doesn’t think of herself, all she want is Rose to be happy. She even gave up on her passion for that. I hate that she pushes Sally away when she’s trying to make her feel better, along with Marcus. I hated Carter too, in the beginning. I really did because Violet never did anything to him yet he was being so mean to her. But then I start to like him when he opens up about himself. That way, I know him.

Anyway, Tom reminds me of Josh Blackthorn from Bittersweet. They don’t have any similarity but somehow, it makes me think of Josh. Haha. #NotRelatedButStill 

I like this book because there is always something going on. It’s not boring, really. It actually makes me keep turning the pages, even when I was sleepy, I still keep reading it.

And of course! THAT PLOT TWIST, THOUGH!! I didn’t expect it at first. Heck, I thought everything was normal from the beginning! I feel so stupid not to expect it LOL.

Leave a comment